Pinot Gris: The Two Faces

We call Pinot Gris the “Two Faces” because the styles of Pinot Gris and Pinot Grigio (the same grape), are so very different.

Pinot Gris originated in Burgundy, but is no longer produced there. Its present French home is the eastern region of Alsace.

Wines called Pinot Gris

  • Spicy full-bodied Alsatian style
    • some sweetness in Alsace versions
  • New World wine regions
    • Marlborough, New Zealand
    • Tasmania and Victoria, Australia
    • Oregon and Washington
  • Apple, pear, melon notes
  • Moderate to low acidity and higher alcohol
  • Oily texture – full-bodied

Wines called Pinot Grigio

  • Lighter-bodied, acidic Italian style Pinot Grigio
  • Lombardy, Veneto, Friuli, Trentino, Alto Adige
  • Northeastern Italian Pinot Grigio is the most popular imported white wine in the United States
  • Some California wines are produced in this style and may be called Pinot Grigio instead of Pinot Gris
  • Easy drinking, undemanding, goes well with food